Not resolved
2.7
Details
Additional Fees
Billing Practices
Cleanliness
Customer service
Diversity of Products or Services
Equipment Quality
Exchange, Refund and Cancellation Policy
Location
Price Affordability
Product or Service Quality
Staff
Value for money
Website
7 comments

On Monday, May 2nd, I went in the Hilltop YMCA studio for a Step group exercise (4300 Lakeside Drive, Richmond, CA). When I picked up an unattended fitness step from the floor, a woman member showed up immediately and shouted “Uh-uh. That’s mine.” I politely replied, “I’m sorry." Later, someone else came in and used that step. The woman didn’t show up until the class ended.

On Wednesday, May 4th, I went to the studio again for another Step class. When I picked up a single step riser from two unattended piles of five, the same woman came to me again and said that both entire piles belonged to her. (She must be very good at Step to use 10 risers.) The instructor came to me and told me that there were Step risers in the closet, and then greeted the woman warmly. After I took some risers from the closet and put them on the floor, the woman and her friend came in and kicked my step risers away. When I tried to put the risers back, she shoved me, shouting, “You can’t put it here.” I asked “Why not,” and she started shouting at me, yelling insults including “Because you are rude”, “You took somebody’s stuff”, “Shut up”, and “***”... These women were picking on me and slandering me as a thief in public. Is it because I am a new member and they have been members for a long time (as the police told me afterwards)?

A man (who claimed that he was the YMCA manager) came in while the women were shouting; asked me to get out of the studio immediately, while allowing the two women to stay. In his office, I told the manager that the two women kicked my steps and insulted me. The manager didn’t show surprise or sympathy, but instead looked out the window from time to time while I was talking. (The police officer, on the other hand, was very surprised that the woman was so rude as to kick out my step riser when I reported the incident to him afterwards.) The manager asked me to leave the YMCA facility immediately, promising that he would make the two women go too. After I left his office, the two women came in. Through the office window, I could see the manger greeting the two women with a big laugh, followed by a pleasant chat.

Later, as I was driving away, I saw the woman walking back to the facility. Wondering if the woman was coming back to the facility and if the manager had broken his “promise,” I stopped my car and watched them. The two women, the manager, and a staff member were gathered around the entrance laughing, while giving high fives to each other. Without any inquiry of me as to why I was watching them, they called the police, accusing me “following” them.

On Friday, May 6, my husband and I visited the YMCA and tried to talk to the manager. The same staff member told us we couldn’t see him, and she wouldn’t allow us in because my membership had been suspended. When I asked about the two women, she was reluctant to confirm whether or not they were suspended from the facility as well. When I came back home, the manager had left a message that informed me that my membership had been suspended. The manager couldn’t tell me face to face while I was in YMCA? He arbitrarily suspended my membership without any communication with me.

On Thursday, May 12, my husband and I made an appointment with two YMCA directors (Branch Operations Director and Regional Executive Director of YMCA of the East Bay) trying to resolve this incident. When we had just sat down, they immediately informed us that they had decided to cancel my membership after discussing with the manager, the staff, the two women, and their long-time Step classmates. YMCA arbitrarily cancelled my membership without discussing it with me at all, before hearing my side of the story. They said they cancelled my membership because of the following behaviors: first, I was upset while I was being harassed. Second, I confronted the assault without leaving the spot (while the manager allowed the woman to shout at me in his presence). Third, without leaving the facility, I stopped watching the two women and the manager laughing and giving high fives (she explained that the woman “might” have come back to pick up something and couldn’t leave because I was watching). They repeated that I violated the “YMCA core values of caring, respect, responsibility and honesty” by the above three behaviors, while ignoring the fact I am the victim of harassment and assault. YMCA didn’t care, respect, take responsibility and be honest to me when dealing with this incident.

I believe Hilltop YMCA allow racial discrimination (I was the only Asian in the incident), let their members arbitrarily insult me, and then cover up their behavior because they are long term members with many friends there.

This reviewer shared experience about poor customer service and wants this business to offer any options to resolve the issue as the author lost $1000. The author is overall dissatisfied with Ymca and uploaded a picture. The most disappointing about ymca yoga fitness program from Ymca was customer service, managers and customer service , but reviewer liked amenities. Reviewer wants customer support to reach out to him or her ASAP for further discussion of this matter.

Also, you can continue reading comments about Ymca.

Check out the best and the worst companies in Fitness Centers category for more informed decision or compare Ymca to other companies on our site.

Had an Experience with Ymca?

Write a review

Comments

Terms of Service
Post Comment
Cancel
Anonymous
#1318908

You were obviously the victim and those women, and Y employees were very derogatory to you.Which is not what should happen at a gym, especially one where you pay for a membership.

Those women reminded me of middle school bullies and the Y manager and Step class instructor of the middle school teachers who side with popular kids.Ugh, I'm sorry you had to go through that.

I am in agreement though that the 'race card' is played all to often.

Anonymous
#1161084

I am very sorry that had such a terrible experience. We in Columbus, Ohio would never treat anyone that way.

Not_the_0P
#1160066

Sounds to me like you were in the wrong and played the race card when you were reprimanded for it. Very typical.

Anonymous
to Not_the_0P #1307949

What a ridiculous sounding complaint! Pulling the race card at the end was an entertaining touch. Now go away!

Anonymous
to Anonymous #1318912

Look, you didn't have to comment so don't tell her to go away.

Anonymous
to Anonymous #1318913

And you know who sounds really ridiculous saying that? YOU DO! Although, I do agree that the race card is played all to often.

Anonymous
to Not_the_0P #1318911

She was in the wrong for going to a class, at a gym, where she payed for a membership, and trying to use the class apparatus?

Wow, when you say it that way she really doesn't seem like a victim. NOT!

You May Also Like

David Barton Gym - No Privacy: Women in Men's locker room, Men taking selfies only with towels on.... David Barton Gym "WOMEN Employees IN THE Men's LOCKER ROOM, see PICS. They have female employees who clean locker room, mainly one older women, and supervisor who is younger, shock when you..." Read more Planet Fitness - I HAVE BEEN A LOYAL CUSTOMER SINCE 2012, I HAVE LOST 75 LBS. Planet Fitness "After being a member for 5 years, I have been wearing the same style tops they decided to tell me I was showing to much skin. Well the females there..." Read more 24 HOUR FITNESS BENSONHURST CLUB IN BROOKLYN NY: ABHORRENT CONDITIONS 24 Hour Fitness "I have notified management several times as well as notifying the Corporate Office of the abhorrent conditions. The facility is poorly maintained and has since declined since its takeover..." Read more Anytime Fitness - Banned after submitting a negative review about unathorized baby in the gym Anytime Fitness "I posted the following review on Yelp - http://www.yelp.com/biz/anytime-fitness-alpharetta?hrid=2_4K_qenr1WTPQqRwcUk6A and was subsequently banned from their facility. Prior to leaving this review, I addressed my issue with CarolAnn Fitzpatrick (co-owner) over 2 months..." Read more Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen - Horrible service Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen "I was refused food and service because I requested food close-by closing time..." Read more Iboats - Return Box was torn so denided Iboats "Yes I ordered a drive shaft that was supposed to be short shaft. Box came and corner of box was torn no biggie opened found out it was the wrong..." Read more Tbdress - Don't Buy from TB Dress!! Tbdress "I made the terrible mistake of purchasing two dresses for my daughter's wedding from TB Dress. When they arrived one had a broken zipper, the other did not fit correctly..." Read more Toyota Financial - They have messed up my credit by over 100 points that will cost me $1000's over my lifetime Toyota Financial "A 30 year military veteran and 12 year Toyota owner, I planned to purchase another when my current Toyota needed replacement. I can tell you that will not happen! I..." Read more